I have a notebook where I do a lot of my writing.  It’s full of ideas, poems, short stories, and terrible drawings.  I’ve taken this notebook across the country and back.  The thing that I like best about it though, is a picture I glued to the inside of the back cover.

Two summers ago I went on tour with my friends and their band.  We rode a heat wave manifest destiny style in a van with out air conditioning. Living like that wasn’t easy but it was fun.  It was an experience of total freedom. I was away from home and everything that was bogging me down in life.  There was no one to answer to and no responsibility.

When I see this picture I think of that night in the desert outside of Los Angeles;  the stars above and the brilliant shine of our souls below as we made our own stars.  Unabashed and unruly, searching for the next place to lay our heads and never ending freedom.

ummer 11 462

“We’ll never go back home
And we’ll pave the roads that the wind will follow
We’ll forge ahead from the lives we spent
Making memories of our discontent
(With Clarity and Intensity, I shall be a force to be reckoned with)” – Departures  “A Short Lifetime in Transit”

