An objective correlative moment for me was the first time I read William Wordsworth’s poem “Composed upon Westminster Bridge”. Prior to reading Wordsworth’s poem, I hated poetry. I did not understand poetry and found it to be quite boring. I took a poetry class that was required for my major and was force to examine poetry. Through the middle of the semester I was given an assignment with a list of several poems to select one and write a critical appreciation of the poem. I selected “Composed upon Westminster Bridge”. As I begin to read through the first three or four lines, a rush of emotions begin to over take me. A feeling that can only be describe by saying, my inter spirit was awakened. At that very moment I was able to understand what Wordsworth was trying to convey. Moreover, I could picture the scenery that Wordsworth was describing. In that fourteen line sonnet Wordsworth called attention to the awesome presence of nature, in the midst of a great city. Wordsworth details are so accurate it’s as if he took a snapshot of a particular place and moment in time. To me the poem is a wonderful poem that have some much meaning and feeling. This one poem changed my perspective on the way I viewed poetry. That experience for me was in 2006;and to this present day if I read “Composed upon Westminster Bridge” it still arouse an awesome feeling within me. I hope you enjoy it to.

William Wordsworth
“Composed upon Westminster Bridge”

Earth has not anything to show more fair:
Dull would he be of soul who could pass by
A sight so touching in its majesty:
This City now doth, like a garment, wear
The beauty of the morning; silent, bare,
Ships, towers, domes, theatres, and temples lie
Open unto the fields, and to the sky;
All bright and glittering in the smokeless air.
Never did sun more beautifully steep
In his first splendour, valley, rock, or hill;
Ne’er saw I, never felt, a calm so deep!
The river glideth at his own sweet will:
Dear God! the very houses seem asleep;
And all that mighty heart is lying still!

