When I was in the seventh grade I joined the student counsel because my favorite teacher (who had been my 5th and 6th grade teacher) Mrs. Kallahan was in charge of the club. She was smart, funny, strong, beautiful, and kind. She was the epitome of perfection and I wanted to grow up and become her. She was my hero. During the course of that year we worked extremely hard having several fundraisers to raise enough money for a trip to Virginia. We had car washes, cake sales and everything under the sun. It was the first time I really felt a part of something. Everyone worked as a team diligently thinking of ways to raise more money for our trip. For Christmas she gave us all a small journal to right down all the activities we wanted to do on our trip. Three weeks before our trip our beloved Mrs. Kallahan never returned to school. Our principal told us she was not returning to school and told us nothing more except that our trip was cancelled. We were devastated because for most of us it would have been our first trip out of New Jersey, but more importantly we were crushed that Mrs. Kallahan was not returning to school. We begged and pleaded for answers until one of our teachers finally budged and told us the truth. Mrs. Kallahan was not returning because she had spent our hard earned money on a lawyer. She was arrested for selling drugs to an undercover cop on several accounts. We all cried when Mrs. Scurti told us. Even Carlos the bully cried. It was the first time I had ever felt utter despair. It was my first heartbreak. I went home, grabbed the journal she had given all of us and wrote three letters on the page. “WHY?”. I couldn’t write another word. I cried so hard that when I woke up the next day and couldn’t open my eyes from the swelling. It’s ironic how there are so many things I wish I could remember in detail that I can’t and this is probably the one thing I wish I could forget.

