Tags

, , ,

This is going to be a little sad, but when I read the assignment it was the first thing I could think of. I apologize in advance.

When I was twelve my mom was pregnant with a baby boy. She was due in August. My twin sister and I were so excited because just a year before my mom gave birth to a baby girl. It was getting close to my birthday and the whole family was going to Sesame Place; it was my birthday gift from my parents. The night before my mom began to have fake contractions and was rushed to the hospital early the next day. Before taking her to the hospital my dad brought my sister and me to my aunt’s house so we can all get ready to hit the road. Hours had passed and my dad called for us to go ahead and they would meet us there later. We spent the whole day at Sesame Place and had a great time, but my parents never came. On the way back home I asked my aunt what happen with my parents, why they never came and she told me the doctor had to keep my mom in the hospital and we were going straight there from Sesame Place. I entered the room along with my sister and the oldest of my aunts kids with excitement that my baby brother may have been born. When we walked in my parents and grandmother were crying and lost in confusion the three of us asked why everyone was crying. My mom broke the news; my baby brother didn’t make it. At twelve years of age I couldn’t understand what happened and all I could do was cry. It was then that I realized that the love can grow incredibly even with an unborn child. I was hurt and tried to understand so many things at once. I cried for days, blamed God and lost belief in God as well. Though my disbelief did not last long it wasn’t until I got to high school that I began to believe again. I came to realize that things happen for a reason and that maybe there was a different plan for my brother then the one we all wanted.

-Ivette

