Tags

          Unlike Chinedum I am going to discuss my favorite Millay’s sonnet although we discussed in class. As an attempt to understand what modernism in poetry is about,  I would like to identify some characteristics of modernism in Millay’s sonnet that starts with”Time does not bring relief; you have all lied/Who told me time would ease me of my pain!”  I would like to start by saying I agree with Wandy that some of Millay’s images are “overwhelming.” I can not ignore my initial feelings of sadness and sympathy for the poet.  The statement above is an exaple of the poet taking advantage of the idea of complete freedom of subject matter.  Millay openly expresses her feelings of dispair, misguidance and the pain one suffers when he or she loses a love, which are often quietly kept.  Millay uses words that only contribute to her presentation of her loss.  She states: I miss him in the weeping of the rain;/I want him at the shrinking of the tide;.  Millay’s diction is honest and to the point. The reader can not misinterpret Millay’s pain caused by the loss of love. 

     Have I missed any other characteristics of modernism in this sonnet? If so please identify them for me.  It would be of great help to me in my mission to undestanding modern poetry.

Shalise Clemons

 

